Stepping Back Into Lincoln


I’m back into Uni, and for the first time, I didn’t bawl my eyes out, although I did tear up leaving Sainsbury’s. I have become a pro at just focusing intently on unpacking my kitchen stuff and the rest of my stuff and ignoring the fact I’ve moved 70 odd miles. I refuse point blank to go to Morrison’s even though it’s a much cheaper shop, particularly for the First Uni Shop which is really expensive buying all the cupboard essentials. But ever since first year I won’t go in because I felt so sad and I was already homesick, so yeah never doing that again!

It has definitely got better now this is the third time around, and I know the people I live with very well now. Every room in the house is ever so slightly different and it feels so much more like a home than our previous house, we haven’t even decorated the house with bunting or anything yet. I have such a big room this year it’s great I just don’t know where to put anything, the only thing that these rooms are missing is shelves, so my little book case is coming up on Monday. Had my first lecture, its the welcome back talk which my friend re-christened it the “Feel the Fear” lecture, the first test of this lecture is can you get up for 9:00am during Fresher’s week so my lecturer whose the year tutor was saying we were doing better than everyone else who didn’t turn up. But yeah, feeling the fear of dissertation year, which they keep renaming independent study, we all just call it dissertation, or in my head currently the dreaded D word.

Also careers made a look in with the careers lady going “Look now! Or else!” kind o, they do guidance appointments where you can discuss for up to an hour jobs you could go into, that is the first I have ever in all my years encountered anything in education about careers that made sense, so once I pluck up the courage to go to a slightly severe looking woman and say “I don’t know what I’m going to do” that will be great. Just need a dose of courage…

On a happier note I’m going to show you the state of my room, which is still in a state of being unpacked; but it’s getting there.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m hopefully going to decorate with…Well you’ll see 🙂

au revoir

Elinor

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment