Hardcore bakers look away now, it’s a microwave cake


On Sunday we were in dire need of a cake but the oven was full of roast dinner, so here’s what I did. I mixed together 200g of butter, sugar and flour and an egg. Then I added a little milk and a big old glug of maple syrup and honey. I poured the mix into a buttered glass bowl (obviously you shouldn’t use a metal cake tin in the microwave THAT WILL KILL YOU…well) and microwaved it for about 8 minutes.

Should be eaten with custard if you ask me.

 Gwen (sorry no pic but we ate it)

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hardcore bakers look away now, it’s a microwave cake

  1. That sounds more interesting than the microwave cake made in my house “The Three Minute Wonder” – it actually takes more along the lines of twenty minutes; but I’ve a chocolate sauce that requires my Dad and I to give it a bit of road test to see how much brandy we should put in it. I have found that it depends on the chocolate.
    What kind of custard did you use? Custard doesn’t go with chocolate cake either does it?
    Avoir
    Elinor

    P.S. Sorry about Saturday. Did Mabel appear?

    • In my first school we had chocolate concrete (also known as action man cake) with custard and that seemed to go fine too the five year old me at least.
      About Saturday, you where fraught with indignation at the state of your bathroom towels and spent the day in the airing cupboard I assume? This seemed like the only logical explanation, a very common condition so don’t worry, though it does usually happen on a Thursday.
      And I see you dropped the ‘M’ bomb in your post. She retreated to an old anderson shelter three weeks ago when she noticed her shadow was in alignment with mars. She has still not materialised. I do not pretend to understand her.
      Gwen

Leave a comment