the Dinner Party Dream


As the summer garden party came to a close we all sat back thinking how well it had gone and said ‘let’s do this next year’. Well, six months on and it turns out we just can’t wait that long so we are now organising the Christmas dinner party.

I’m not consciously stressed about it, but subconsciously it may be a different story. About two nights ago I dreamt the whole thing went horribly wrong, all the guests (who were actually different people to who we’re inviting in real life) arrived far too early and where sitting, looking very bored, around the table while I fumbled in a futile manner with flower arrangement that simply would not cooperate.

All the while I was thinking how things would be so much better if I had some little nibbles to serve to the guests while they waited for my floristry skills to improve, and for some reason the particular snack I thought would solve things was cheesy puffs. I kept asking my mum if we had any and she kept saying no, and I was becoming more and more stressed out and desperate. I know it was only a dream, but I don’t recall ever being so desperate for a savoury orange snack before or since. 

When I awoke the next morning I contemplated going to Tesco and buying some just to put my mind at rest but I managed to resist, it’s still tempting though.

Your cheesy puff deprived,

Gwen

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the Dinner Party Dream

  1. Gwen, take deep breaths. And hold it in until you pass out. It will all be fine – we do not need to go buy a brace of the dainty fowl variety and everyone will be far too polite. I have thought of one problem but I have also solv-ed it! Tell you tomorrow, stop dreaming its bad for your health dear.
    avior
    Elinor
    P.S. “I have a thought that may blow your mind…crumpets!” (Gwendolyn Bracknell, Summer Garden Party)

Leave a Reply

