Holiday reads from the second-hand bookshop


I’m off on my holidays soon, meaning I’ll be leaving you in the capable hands of Elinor for a while. From Saturday I’ll be spending two weeks in Dumfries and then moving on for a few days in Edinburgh, then its one day at home before going off for four days in the peak district with some friends (including inspector crocodile binoculars and Elinor). So, while on these travels, what ever shall I read?
I went in to a second hand book shop and picked up a few things.
Firstly The Invisible Man by H G Wells, I’ve been meaning to read it for a while, ever since watching the 2000 TV series by the same name which I’m sure is about as removed from the book as you could get. Fond a brand new copy for £2.49.

I’ve been collecting the works of Daphne Du Maurier since reading Rebecca and loving it. I can usually count on there being a Du Marier at my local Oxfam book shop though always in the penguin classics section with the unattractive binding and the orange spine, but no matter this one cost £1.49 and according to the inside cover was one owned by a Kate McMichael.

I’m a big fan of Sherlock Holmes and have already read them all but when I got to The Hound of the Baskervilles I had to borrow Elinor’s copy, so when I saw this charming binding for a mere £1.99 I couldn’t resist owning my own copy.
Gwen

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

