Charlie Gravel-Voice


A poem I wrote after spending a evening listening to Tom Waits, for some reason when I copy poems from Word it wont let me paragraph, sorry about that.

My Charlie gravel-voice,

Turned fifty last July,

He was never fond of cake,

So I made him apple pie,

I sang him Happy Birthday,

Though I feared that he was not,

He knew his end was near,

 and he didn’t smile a lot.

He looked at me with kindness,

And said; “don’t fear or fret”

Then from his birthday candle,

He lit a cigarette.

I watched him smoke in silence,

Then he exhaled and said;

“I’ve not said all I should to you,

And now I’m nearly dead,

Oh don’t cry Daisy darlin’,

It doesn’t suit you sober,

Now hold my hand a minute,

And  I’ll try to sort things over.”

“It may be petty cash is petty,

And diamonds are diseased,

But if I had rich-man-itus,

And got a fiver when I sneezed,

I’d give it all to you dais,

To spend it on a dress,

Or a crucifix of gold,

That our man God would bless.”

“my schooling was strumming,

On a second hand guitar,

And though you liked the music,

It didn’t get us very far,

I busked for thirty years;

Played a paving slab a tune,

Had your darning in my trousers,

And my plectrum was a spoon.

“’do you love your daisy?’ ,

Is the only question I can answer,

You give me all I got,

And by than I don’t mean cancer,

I mean a gentle hand,

And company for life,

I didn’t need no money,

For a top end wife.

“God knows I wish my legacy,

Was more than nubs and tat,

But I love you Daisy darlin’,

And I can’t give more than that.”

Then he leaned across and kissed me,

Just a day before he’d die,

And we sat there as the rain fell,

Eating apple pie.

Gwen

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

