Lunchtime Diaries Wednesday


Chickpea and Chorizo Stew

Tined/cooked chickpeas (if they’re tinned you don’t have to cook them but I had dried ones so I did)

Chorizo

paprika

A dash of red wine

Tinned tomatoes

Some veg (anything you have will do, I used green beans because I love them and some frozen peas)

Worcester sauce

Sizzle your chopped chorizo in a saucepan adding the paprika after a bit, then throw in the wine and let it hiss like mad while the alcohol cooks off. Then add your tomatoes, chickpeas, veg and the old Worcester sauce and let it boil away for a little while. Season to taste.

 

Now you may be thinking, come on Gwen, I don’t want to be cooking every lunch time. And I get that, so I tend to make more than enough for one meal and freeze the rest. I find it very comforting to have hearty meals at my fingertips for whenever they’re needed, like when I come home late having not eaten, or when my brother is wandering around hungry and pathetic, and when my mum had a bad throat for a week it was very handy to have an array of home cooked soups in the freezer for her. Just be sure to label things or you may end up playing frozen lunch roulette.

Gwen

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

