Book Haul


I do love the summer, but I don’t cling to it or pine when it vanishes like it has done where I live. Right now, for example, I am wearing a thick cable knit jumper and a pair of wool socks with a reindeer pattern on them. Other clothes too, mind, I don’t want you getting weird ideas, but this snugly outfit is giving me infinite happiness. Bring on the conkers and hot chocolate! That’s what I say.
Anyway, this has nothing to do with my post, I’m telling you about the books I bought in Hay on Wye when I was visiting recently. As you can see I took this photograph a while ago before the weather turned. From bottom to top we have;

P1120109
The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoevsky…
…or the Karamazov Brothers as I have it here, I guess it’s a matter of translation. I recently read another of Dostoevsky’s famous books ‘Crime and Punishment’ and decided it was one of the best books I have ever read, so I wanted to explore the author a little more. I have also read ‘Notes from Underground’ which was a difficult read despite being a novella of about 90 pages, so we’ll see how I get on with this.

Cocktail Time and Ring For Jeeves by PG Wodehouse…
…ahhh, nothing like a bit of Wodehouse when you’re feeling low, funny, impossibly entwined plots where nothing truly bad happens yet the stakes are always high. I read Ring for Jeeves soon after I bought it so I can recommend that one and the other is from the Uncle Fred series, if two books can be called a series, but I’m going to put that one by for a rainy day. Just the tonic.

A Tiny Bit Marvellous by Dawn French…
…Now I like Dawn French as a comedian, so I was naturally interested in her as a writer, and though in some quarters this book went down a storm, in others not so much. Trepidation then set in, compounded by the fact that I hardly ever go for the family drama type of book and I never got it. Then I saw it going for a quid in one of hay’s charitable establishments and I thought, hey, for that barginus price you’re coming home with me bookie. I’m a couple of pages in so I’ll have to get back to you on it.

Flashman and the redskins by George Macdonald Fraser….
…These are romping adventure stories with an antihero protagonist and I was reading another in the series while in Hay, so one of my beady eyed friends (who had enjoyed the quote ‘catch it you ham fisted buttock!’) pointed this one out to me.

P1120100

Master and Commander by Patrick O’Brien…
…Now I’ve sailed a boat, not a man’o’war, or a galleon, or even a humble sloop, because I’m not Captain Hook, but I have sailed and she who sails learns a few nautical terms; jib, dagger board, painter, tack blahdy blah… But I’ll tell you something, that scant collection of vocab could not scratch the surface of the vast canon of technical navel and nautical references that Patrick O’Brien can cram into a single book. I swear that half the time I had no idea what was happening. And yet I stormed through it, held aloft as it is by it’s strong characterisations, and now I’m desperate for the next one.

Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens…
…It’s a classic I need to read and I must admit, I do love the binding.

Gwen

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

