Your Top Three Books?


you top three
And no you can’t have more.
Let me squeeze you, not in a friendly embrace type of way (though that too if you want), but in a ‘I must push you for an answer sort of way’.
Lord knows in this day and age the blog world is full of praise, things like; ‘this cake changed my life’, or ‘this book made me laugh, cry and wet myself a bit’ get banded about quite a lot, but if you could only pick three? Three top reads from your lifetime that you would take with you to a desert island?
I could recomend a lot of books to my friends, I could pass on my good impressions of reads until I was blue in the face if I wanted to, but truthfully there are only a select few I could praise passionately to the masses with even a little tear behind my eyes.

These are my top three and I’m interested to know what are yours?

The nonchalant  leen

The nonchalant leen

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
If I may use the word connected, then I connected with this book, not because I’ve been in love with a grumpy man in a gothic mansion, but because Jane’s understated charm and compassion makes you love her and root for her.
Despite all the emotional heft in the middle and towards the end of the book, it as really something near the beginning that just punched me in the solar-plexus. Jane’s relationship with her friend Helen at school was surprisingly close to life, without being to spoilerish, their relationship so closely mirrored a situation I’d been in that to read it so simply and beautifully portrayed, it as all too much I can tell you!

To Kill A Mocking Bird by Harper Lee
One of the most complete, start to finish, tie it with a bow masterpieces you can read in my opinion. She writes every detail of how it was to think and be as a child, and writes about injustice in the only way it should be seen, through the honest and untainted eyes of a child. Just bloody brilliant.

Crime And Punishment by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
I’ve written about this before, and I think a lot of people are put off by Dostoyevsky because he drivels on a bit and can be so depressing. True enough I would say, but this is different, this spans human emotion like a home base colour chart (including humor honest to God) and I just love it.

P1130869

I tag Elinor, Anna at loose leaf tea and letters (my sister in law) and Gemma and Winkles at Mainly Music Among Other Rambling to tell me your top three books. And all of you.

Gwen

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Your Top Three Books?

  1. Drat, I was going to pick Jane Eyre but you beat me to it. My picks would be Jane Austen’s “Persuasion”, Mark Twain’s “The Innocents Abroad” and “Rat Race” by Dick Francis.

  2. All your books look so deliciously read! I’m really loving the photos on the blog at the moment, they all seem very professional.
    Hannah

  3. Pingback: My Top Three Books | Loose Leaf Tea & Letters

Leave a Reply

