Having the Builders in…Again!


Yes the builders are back, not inside the house but outside the house. Next time a member of my family has a ‘good idea’ I will set a set a small rodent on them.

This has now become ridiculous as far as summers go, if its not builders chopping down walls, its us doing light construction work or heavy decorating and then everyone complains to me about every other member of our family and you can’t do anything else because then you’re not helping.

Currently I can’t work in my room for the next week because the builders are going to be outside the front of the house underneath and to the left of my bedroom window. Now the scaffolder’s are coming so the rotten wood can be replaced. Guess whose window the builder has to climb through so he can see what needs doing along the ledge. Yep, mine. Yay! So I have just had to move my bed, bedside table, and bookshelf and everything in them round so that he has room to get through my window as that’s what my bed was against. That certainly doesn’t count as my jolliest of breakfast times. At the moment I do have a bed to sleep in, that is all intact, for the moment but I have a sneaky suspicion that this current state of affairs won’t last long. It always gets worse from here on in, I have a little over 20 years experience of this.

And where are my parents in all of this you ask? On holiday, in Dorset. Great! Cheers for that, because guess which muggins pulled the short straw of being the only together-person left in the house to therefore deal with the builders? Meeeeeeee. Not my brother who can’t be asked to get out of bed before one o’clock, me with the dissertation to write. Mum handily suggested I go back to Lincoln if I didn’t like it, but I can’t. I have no house there, I’m between contracts at the moment so there is nowhere for me to stay. Admittedly they do deserve a holiday but why’d they pick this week? 

The only shred of good news I can glean to is that I don’t have to sit in the kitchen on uncomfortable chairs all day long because they’re not working in the hall, I can at least sit on comfortable chairs in the dining room. I am clinging to that shred of happiness to stop me from having a completely embarrassing screaming fit at the builders because they had to agree to it in the summer holidays.

Also, the builder was waiting for the scaffloder’s to come at 9:00 and yesterday he told me they’d be here at about 9:00 so of course I got up at 8:30 to be ready in time. Scaffolder’s still hadn’t turned up at about 9:30 so the builder must have rung them and then told me they’d got here at 7:30 in the morning but none of us was awake. Of course I wasn’t awake at 7:30 I’M ON HOLIDAY! I didn’t say that, but I really wanted to. I do remember my brother waking me up at roughly 7:30 and saying something about noise and then going away again. But I don’t know what that was about I was half asleep and then went straight back to sleep because I didn’t have to be up for another hour.

So that’s what the rest of my week looks like, what’s yours like?

au revoir

Elinor (the ranter)

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

