The Quest for “Love Actually”


Love Actually you say? How can you need that film, don’t you have that already? And the wondrous line: Its on Netlfix. I do not personally need this film, though I have never seen it, we have been trying to find this film for ages for my Auntie who has also never seen it but does not have access to a computer or the internet.

So today (Christmas Eve) we finally completed the saga that was the Quest for Love Actually… After searching high and low in two cities and about eight different shops we finally found a copy of it.

My parents searched the HMV in Lincoln and all the charity shops they could find and could not find it, today very early in the morning mum and I went into Birmingham town centre and began the hunt again.

You may have just gasped and slopped tea (or coffee if you are that way inclined) down your self at the sentence, major shopping centre on Christmas Eve?!!?! is the woman mad? Surprisingly the Bullring was no where near as busy as I thought it was going to be, it didn’t even get to Saturday level busy. And we took the precaution of leaving at about 8:45 and there was no queue for the car park.

But Anyway, I digress. So we hit HMV in Birmingham and after searching all around for it in the Christmas films section and then in comedy and then in drama we couldn’t find it so we lassoed a pink shirted bunny and asked her did they have it. After taking us to where the elusive film was last seen she went and checked on the computer systems and reported back that actually had minus 1 copies of the film.

How you get to minus 1 I don’t know but we toddled off greatly disappointed and searched BHS when I spotted they had a small collection of DVD’s. Now only big blockbuster new releases and the old favourites are expected in BHS, Love Actually this time of year surely they would stick that. But no, t’was not to be dear reader. Gloom set upon us, nowhere else could we think to find a selection of DVD’s that might contain a single copy of Love Actually.

And then Lo! we saw WHSmiths. Perhaps maybe we might be in with a chance here. After a small hiccup when I thought they didn’t have a DVD selection, I found a small selection of top seasonal releases. I searched and searched and I tell you there was no Love Actually to be found, not even for ready money! I was on the point of giving up and flouncing out of the shop a thwarted young woman (I’ve never liked the idea of being a damsel, it seems one should be a pot of jam) but then, it caught my eye I stand I had missed. I began to search and there on the second half of the first shelf at the end, sitting very quietly was Love Actually. I did that thing that they do in the movies when you reach out and snatch the last item off the shelf, I did that though there was no one next to me.

But I found it – I felt like King Arthur and the sword in the stone, it was a momentous occasion that my giddy little half skip and then fast walk to the till was fully justified in but I must have looked a tad stupid to the rest of the shoppers.

au revior and Merry Christmas!

Elinor

P.S. This does denote I have returned to the blog. Doodles will follow…eventually

P.P.S. I have just identified from the noise that my eldest brother often known for his grumpy demeanour is watching Brave. One is most amused 🙂

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Quest for “Love Actually”

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Hello Elinor, I’m a friend fro Boston from years ago, I have to speak with you as soon as possible, I understand you are a very busy woman. If you could speak for a few minutes I would very much appreciate it .

    Thank You Kindly
    Beth
    uS EST 857-258-4441

Leave a Reply

