I’m Back!!!


Just a heads up this is a rather long post, but there are pictures – I tried to make them pretty.

Ooh! I say what ’tis this foreign country I have stumbled into? Could it be the Blog!? By jove it is! I’d recognise that type writer anywhere.

Yes I am alive and kicking – well crawling, I’m not really recovered from the last term of uni and Holy Week. But first things first, I have been thinking about this for months now my grand return to the blog (at one point I was going to do an animation but I realised that was a lot of hard work and I don’t know anything about it) but this I think sums it up now and the soundtrack pieces of definitely one of my favourite films of all time helped to keep me sane in the final stages of everything.

Ahah! I have finally put this on the blog! And when I finished off the Dreaded Dissertation, I celebrated thusly: 

Note: I didn't eat the ink, that was just to stand the walnut whip on ;)

Note: I didn’t eat the ink, that was just to stand the walnut whip on 😉

Unfortunately it wasn’t quite freedom, in the month that was March I had five deadlines, in the last week I wrote approximately 6,000 words for two essays. So I didn’t have any opportunity to really rest, and I caught up with it immensely over the last week. But other things have occurred which I attempted to keep photographic evidence of and give you a sort of run through of some of the…incidents…that have occurred in my life that I wanted to tell you but was too fettered and chained to do so.

First things first we’ll start just after Christmas, and the kitchen units broke, we had a drawer that was too heavy with cutlery that twisted on its rollers and became wedged but that got fixed before I could photograph the damage. About a week after the drawer had broken this happened:

WP_20150116_003

I opened the cupboard door and it tried to fall on my foot. One of the screws had come loose and the hinge came out, which led to me propping up the door on tins and bags of rice, (luckily the stuff that’s in that cupboard anyway) until Dad came home and then we fixed it. It’s just like new now. Except still a very old and slightly creaky new. Curiously enough the other drawer on the other side of the kitchen broke for Easter. Same thing, we had too much rubbish in it – we probably really rather ought to do a kitchen clean up or complete blitz.

I covered the kitchen at uni in banana bread batter. I was pouring it and there was an awful lot of batter for the bowl and I being me managed to get batter all over the nice new table cloth and down the chair leg all on the floor, not mention myself. Banana bread went down well, even to me despite still being rather wary of banana. Also our oven which is really old, and heats from two rows of flame on the bottom, means that the banana bread burnt underneath and then the middle wasn’t cooked properly because of how thick the batter was. Though it did give a wonderful ombred colouration to the outside of the loaf.

           

About two weeks before I needed to hand in my dissertation my bathroom ceiling leaked, quite badly. The sealant on my housemates shower directly above mine had gone and the result was about an hours worth of water pouring through my ceiling and my light bulb fitting which might explain the brown staining that is now getting better curiously enough…

WP_20150206_002

My response to the matter whilst waiting for my land lady

My response to the matter whilst waiting for my land lady

Then just after that, I went out for one of housemates birthday, which also required us to blow up a ridiculous number of balloons to try and fill his room. But we went out to the pub called The Green Dragon, (which I love for this song from the Lord of the Rings)

At this pub they do hot rocks, which I had heard about and really wanted to try. The Green Dragon also did a selection of really exotic meats.  and  on the lunchtime menu you could get zebra steak on it. It was great fun cooking on the rocks, although slightly painful as well mine started spitting at me. They also did sweet potato fries which were delicious, I wish more places did sweet potato stuff as its a really nice flavour and is a vegetable. Not very healthy when you have it as fries I grant you but its tasty.

omnomnom

omnomnom

My housemate also went out one night nearer the end of term and went to McDonalds on ordering the happy meal, she got one of the Shaun the Sheep freebie things, and so outside my door when I got up was the Shirley cereal bowl, and the whisk with one of the other sheep on. I found an immediate use for Shirley but not for the whisking sheep, maybe as a cocktail whisk or an egg scrambler. I did try it in tea and after the spoon had been in to fish out the teabag it was a bit superfluous.

Breakfast with Shirley

Breakfast with Shirley

I also discovered the one thing my housemates cannot resist, if you ever want to capture one of them use lemon drizzle cake, it lasted less than 36 hours both times I made it.

Ah the Trap!

Ah the Trap!

And I found a new favourite cider to have with food, especially spicy chicken wings…

Lovely giggling juice

Lovely giggling juice

I bought daffodils as well to brighten up the ol’ room, and had great fun putting them into the empty ginger beer bottles in my room which I’ve been saving for just such an occasion. This time of year you can’t beat a daffodil, there is just something about them.

I felt very adult buying these

I felt very adult buying these

And I built my desk! My desk that we bought in the summer of last year, on one of the many trips to IKEA. I finally put it together, almost all by myself, and then when some of my friends came over for curry and meeting about the Triduum Masses I hijacked them to come and help me turn it over because you build it with the top on the floor. I have finally now moved into the desk completely, eventually I will figure out where I prefer things but really like how much space I’ve now got and how bright my desk space is now, its white and I’ve got my fairy lights in the corner section so all the light gets reflected back. I just await moving the old desk to mums office and then moving that table top desk into dads office, then I can get into my wardrobe. I currently have a rather limited selection of clothes which was my last load of washing. In the process I made a huge mess of my room, because not only did everything had to come out of the desk but the two shelves that it would have covered up had to be cleared as well.

Ta-da!

Ta-da!

And the mess

And the mess

As with all Holy Week’s there are a number of shenanigans, some of the more curious are me an hour before Vigil Mass on Saturday, when we have a fire, abusing an old flathead screwdriver and a block of wood that used to be part of an arch section holding up a shelf as a hammer and chisel because we forgot the axe for chopping the small sections of wood we had into smaller kindling. I got some interesting looks from early parishioners and other altar servers as they came into the sacristy and found me beavering away in quite an odd manner. But you can tell I am my fathers daughter, my first thoughts on discovering we had no axe was I know there was a flathead screwdriver now if I can just find something hammer-like…

Then we had takeout curry for the older servers in the hall, which was great but unfortunately when we were leaving at about half 11 at night dad came back across the car park and completely forgot that there was a curb and subsequently tripped and fell on his face. Quite a panic moment to which I am still eternally grateful that Alex and Anna were still there because I was quite freaked when dad got up and there was blood pouring from his eyebrow. He was fine, given everything that could have happened, and we were a bit worried he’d hit his head because of the blood but that was actually his glasses taking a gouge out of his eyebrow. The bit that actually hit the floor hard was his cheek that did graze quite badly. After we got a dressing on it he went and found his bandana and started making pirate noises because he looked rather pirate-ish. I kept on asking him times table questions at random and he got them all right and kept reminding me that I didn’t know the answer because he remembered the attempts to teach me when I was younger. But he was fine and got up this morning and went to do the other masses looking like the phantom of the opera who had out grown his mask.

Other reason this was an odd Saturday, I had to make a fake paschal candle. Or more accurately I had to make a fake transfer of the symbols that get put on the paschal candle. We have two parishes because of the shortage of priests, and last year we ended up with two paschal candles for one of the parishes, so we only ordered one this year thinking ah we have that one from last year. Unfortunately that one got put somewhere very safe (lost in other words) so we had to find a candle about the right diameter and as white as we could get it which was the easy bit, then there was the problem of this close to Easter Vigil where do we get a transfer? The transfer is the same stuff that you put on airfix stuff  but for this its a rectangle with a cross on it and the alpha and omega signs. So my dad says to me ah you still have acrylic paint don’t you, you can just paint it on. It actually worked a lot better than I’d expected I got an oval shape printed off on normal paper and then just drew on it pencil the shapes we needed and then you tape that to the candle and go over the lines with a pen that’s run out of ink. Then just paint between the lines, the difficult bit comes when you have to use the border lines which I painted on to straighten up the other shapes that have gone quite wobbly. And I made two, one practice one in the afternoon and then at two o’clock this morning I started the actual one and finished at 3 am. 

Before

Before

After

After

This is what happens when you are a deacons daughter, its making a makeshift hammer and chisel in place of an axe and painting candles with acrylic paint in the small hours of the morning.

So that’s what I’ve been doing now how about you dears?

au revior

Elinor

 

 

About Gwen and Elinor

Two bloging buddies who love tea and biscuits.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

